India bat with Jaiswal, Samson and Dube in; Ngarava back for Zimbabwe


Toss India chose to bat vs Zimbabwe

Shubman Gill called it right for the third straight T20I and India opted to bat against Zimbabwe in Harare.

That left them with batting depth till Washington Sundar, who was carded at No. 8. It meant two of the top four – Jaiswal, Gill, Abhishek Sharma and Ruturaj Gaikwad – would have to bat out of position at Nos. 3 and 4. India picked four proper bowling options with Abhishek and Dube likely needing to combine for four overs.

Zimbabwe captain Sikandar Raza said his team was looking to bowl first anyway. They made a couple of changes, with Richard Ngarava declared fit and replacing Luke Jongwe while Tadiwanashe Marumani came in for opener Innocent Kaia, who was out with a split webbing.

“The pitch is not as flat as the second game and not as moist as the first game,” Raza observed at the toss.

The series stands level at 1-1 after Zimbabwe began with a win before India romped back with a 100-run victory on Sunday.

Zimbabwe: 1 Tadiwanashe Marumani, 2 Wessly Madhevere, 3 Brian Bennett, 4 Dion Myers, 5 Sikandar Raza (capt), 6 Johnathan Campbell, 7 Clive Madande (wk), 8 Wellington Masakadza, 9 Richard Ngarava, 10 Blessing Muzarabani, 11 Tendai Chatara

India: 1 Shubman Gill (capt), 2 Yashasvi Jaiswal, 3 Abhishek Sharma 4 Ruturaj Gaikwad, 5 Sanju Samson (wk), 6 Shivam Dube, 7 Rinku Singh, 8 Washington Sundar, 9 Ravi Bishnoi, 10 Avesh Khan, 11 Khaleel Ahmed

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Shaheen, Babar, Rizwan denied NOCs to play in Global T20 Canada
Thushara out of India T20Is with broken finger
Athapaththu, Gunaratne and bowlers take dominant Sri Lanka to Asia Cup semi-final
England’s itinerary madness leaves no room for white-ball reboot
Rossouw, Kusal Mendis lead Jaffna to their fourth LPL title in five seasons

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *