Shakib, Rishad and Mustafizur take Bangladesh one step closer to Super Eight


Toss Netherlands chose to bowl vs Bangladesh

Netherlands captain Scott Edwards elected to field against Bangladesh in the first international fixture at the Arnos Vale Ground in Kingstown in nearly a decade. The toss was delayed by half an hour due to drizzle in the morning but the forecast is clear for the rest of the day.

Netherlands made one change to their playing XI from their previous game against South Africa bringing in offspinner Aryan Dutt for his first game of the tournament in place of Teja Nidamanuru.

“Not many teams know the conditions here,” Edwards said at the toss. “Our boys are just looking forward to it and give ourselves every chance.”

Bangladesh captain Najmul Hossain Shanto did not mind batting first, but also said his side will need to be careful with the new ball upfront. Bangladesh will be going in with the same playing XI as the previous game against South Africa.

With South Africa already through to the Super Eight from Group D, a win here win is critical for both teams in going forward to the next round.

Netherlands: 1 Max O’Dowd, 2 Michael Levitt, 3 Vikramjit Singh, 4 Scott Edwards (capt & wk), 5 Bas de Leede, 6 Sybrand Engelbrecht, 7 Logan van Beek, 8 Aryan Dutt, 9 Tim Pringle, 10 Paul van Meekeren, 11 Vivian Kingma

Bangladesh: 1 Tanzid Hasan, 2 Litton Das (wk), 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), 4 Towhid Hridoy, 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Jaker Ali, 8 Rishad Hossain, 9 Tanzim Hasan, 10 Taskin Ahmed 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Chandimal returns; Asalanka to lead Sri Lanka in T20I series against India
‘Trust, freedom, success’ – Gambhir lays out his coaching philosophy
Joshua Da Silva, Shamar Joseph take West Indies to 41-run lead on first innings
Ireland bowl under cloudy skies; Zimbabwe hand debuts to Gumbie, Bennett and Madande
Molineux suffers fractured rib, faces eight weeks on sideline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *