Zampa four-for seals Australia’s Super Eight spot


Australia won the toss and decided to bowl against Namibia

Nathan Ellis has replaced Mitchell Starc as Australia look to secure their place in the Super Eights with victory over Namibia in Antigua.

Australia will chase for the first time in the tournament having set targets against Oman and England. Captain Mitchell Marsh said that Starc “didn’t quite pull up from the last game” and with a hectic schedule ahead there was a cautious approach taken.

Head coach Andrew McDonald flagged yesterday that while there wouldn’t be rotation for the sake of it, the fast bowlers could be managed. Pat Cummins had sat out the opening game against Oman with Ellis playing that fixture before being left out against England where the big three were back together.

Namibia have made three changes as they try and keep alive slim hopes of progressing. Opening batter Michael van Lingen, and pace bowlers Jack Brassell and Ben Shikongo come into the side. It means that Namibia have an extra bowling option in their XI with Malan Kruger having been left out. JP Kotze and Tangeni Lungameni are the others to make way.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Travis Head, 3 Mitchell Marsh (capt), 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stonis, 6 Tim David, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Pat Cummins, 9 Nathan Ellis, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood

Namibia 1 Michael van Lingen, 2 Nikolaas Davin, 3 Jan Frylinck, 4 Gerhard Erasmus (capt), 5 Zane Green (wk), 6 David Wiese, 7 Ruben Trumpelmann, 8 JJ Smit, 9 Bernard Scholtz, 10 Jack Brassell, 11 Ben Shikongo

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Pooja Vastrakar, Smriti Mandhana Set Up India Women’s Series-Levelling T20I Win Over South Africa
Gautam Gambhir unveiled as India’s new head coach
Strauss: Next Ashes ‘too far’ for Anderson (but he should receive a knighthood)
David Warner keeps door ajar for Champions Trophy ‘if selected’
Ecclestone, Capsey star as England hold off New Zealand for 3-0 lead

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *