SL incensed after third umpire overturns Soumya Sarkar dismissal

Bangladesh

Sri Lanka were indignant in the second T20I following the controversial overturning of an on-field decision, by third umpire Masudur Rahman.

Early in the fourth over of Bangladesh’s chase, opener Soumya Sarkar had been given out by on-field umpire Sharfuddoula, who ruled that he had edged behind a short delivery from left-arm seamer Binura Fernando. Soumya reviewed that decision immediately, but had begun to walk off the field when the big screen showed a clear spike at around the same time the ball appeared to pass bat.

Umpire Rahman, however, believed the spike to have come from a noise other than bat on ball. He said on air that there was a “clear gap” between bat and ball at the moment the spike showed up on Ultra-edge. There was a slight misalignment – the ball was one frame past the bat when the spike showed up. But in such circumstances, it is common that the batter is given out, and the misalignment put down to differences in the calibration of the technology.

It was also not clear from where else a noise that had produced a pronounced spike could have arisen.

When umpire Rahman conveyed to the on-field umpire that the decision would be overturned, Sri Lanka were bemused. They swarmed around Sharfuddoula questioning the decision. Their coach Chris Silverwood also walked across the sightscreen to talk to the fourth official Tanvir Ahmed.

Soumya was on 14 at the time. He would eventually fall for 26, in the seventh over.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

WI coach Sammy: ‘This loss will not dampen our spirits’
Unbeaten South Africa in front as USA hope for more magic
Six-hitter Dube awaits his moment to unleash
Pooran goes on rampage as Omarzai bowls joint most expensive over in T20Is
Dilhari and Gunaratne sparkle as Sri Lanka take unassailable 2-0 lead

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *