Mark Wood returns in place of Shoaib Bashir for third Test at Rajkot

Mark Wood has been recalled to England’s attack at the expense of the offspinner Shoaib Bashir, as England confirmed their team for the third Test against India, which gets underway in Rajkot on Thursday.

Wood played as a lone seamer in England’s victory in the first Test at Hyderabad but went wicketless on a surface that did not suit his express pace. However, he has been recalled to partner James Anderson, who impressed with five wickets at Visakhapatnam last week, on a surface that had been more green-tinged in the lead-up to the match.

He is the only change to the starting XI, with Bashir sitting out after claiming four wickets on debut in the second Test. It means that England will be playing two seamers for the first time in the series, after fielding a spin-dominant attack in each of the last two matches.

Rehan Ahmed’s participation for this match had been in some doubt after he encountered visa issues on his return to India, following the team’s mid-series break in Abu Dhabi. However, that issue has been resolved.

England: 1 Zak Crawley, 2 Ben Duckett, 3 Ollie Pope, 4 Joe Root, 5 Jonny Bairstow, 6 Ben Stokes (capt), 7 Ben Foakes (wk), 8 Rehan Ahmed, 9 Tom Hartley, 10 Mark Wood, 11 James Anderson

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Harry Brook, Jonny Bairstow rescue act keeps England alive
Shaheen and Babar seal Pakistan’s nervy win against Ireland
Injured Brandon King a doubt for remainder of WI’s T20 World Cup
Stoinis breaks Scotland hearts, England through to Super Eight
United States vs South Africa LIVE Score,T20 World Cup 2024: Harmeet Singh Takes Two In Two Balls, SA Three Down

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *