Williamson, Ravindra keep New Zealand steady in wicketless second session

South Africa

Toss South Africa chose to bowl vs New Zealand

Dane Paterson, who has played two Tests, will lead the bowling attack while Duane Oliver is the most capped player in the XI with 15 games to his name.

New Zealand made two changes from their last Test, against Bangladesh in December, by bringing in Rachin Ravindra in the middle order for Henry Nicholls and fast bowler Matt Henry for Ajaz Patel. Kane Williamson, who had missed the last three T20Is against Pakistan recently with a hamstring injury, was fit and back.

It was bright and sunny at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, where South Africa play their first Test. New Zealand have lost their last two Tests here, to Bangladesh and England. None of the four Tests at this ground has resulted in a draw.

South Africa: 1 Neil Brand (capt), 2 Edward Moore, 3 Raynard van Tonder, 4 Zubayr Hamza, 5 David Bedingham, 6 Keegan Peterson, 7 Ruan de Swardt, 8 Clyde Fortuin (wk), 9 Duanne Olivier, 10 Tshepo Moreki, 11 Dane Paterson

New Zealand: 1 Tom Latham, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Rachin Ravindra, 5 Daryl Mitchell, 6 Tom Blundell (wk), 7 Glenn Phillips, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee (capt), 10 Matt Henry, 11 Kyle Jamieson

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Richards, Hooper hit back at Lara for ‘gross misrepresentations’ in his book
Harshit Rana credits Gautam Gambhir for his success ‘above everyone else’
Sri Lanka make four changes, opt to bat against Malaysia
India win big after racking up their highest T20I total
Harry Brook, Joe Root extend England’s lead beyond 300

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *