Will Jacks 94, Sam Hain 89 carry England to 334 for 8


Ireland won the toss and chose to bowl first vs England

Paul Stirling won the toss and chose to bowl first at a sunny Trent Bridge, as Ireland’s ODI series against England prepared to get underway at the second attempt, following the frustrating washout at Headingley on Wednesday.

With much of England’s attention already thrown forward to the World Cup in India next week, Zak Crawley will be leading the ODI side for the first time, one that will feature a total of 48 caps across the 11 players, and four debutants in Sam Hain, Jamie Smith, Tom Hartley and George Scrimshaw.

The quartet were handed their caps before the start of play, by the former England players Andrew Flintoff, Marcus Trescothick, Mark Butcher and Dominic Cork.

Hain, 28, has been one of the outstanding white-ball cricketers on the domestic circuit in recent years, averaging a remarkable 57.96 in List A cricket, at a strike-rate of 86.19. Hartley, the Lancashire left-arm spinner, was a late inclusion in the squad following Craig Overton’s withdrawal, having impressed for England Lions in Sri Lanka last winter – and squeezed into the XI due to illness to Luke Wood.

Scrimshaw, who is set to leave Derbyshire for Northants next year, is perhaps the most intriguing inclusion, with his 6ft 7in frame, allied to an ability to touch 90mph, making him a key asset. He made his first mark in last season’s T20 Blast, claiming 23 wickets.

Surrey’s Smith, meanwhile, is one of the most exciting prospects in the squad, a clean ball-striker and wicketkeeper who, at the age of 23, looks set to be a key contender across formats for England in the coming years.

For Ireland, there are a handful of notable positional changes in their line-up, following the team’s failure to progress through the World Cup qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe this summer.

Andrew Balbirnie, the former captain, steps up to open alongside his successor Stirling, while Curtis Campher has been inked in at No. 3, having made his mark in the middle order in the early years of his career.

“It’s a fresh wicket in late September,” Stirling said at the toss. “We’ll see if we can get some extraction from the pitch.” Crawley admitted he would have batted too.

England: 1 Will Jacks, 2 Phil Salt, 3 Zak Crawley (capt), 4 Ben Duckett, 5 Sam Hain, 6 Jamie Smith (wk), 7 Brydon Carse, 8 Rehan Ahmed, 9 Tom Hartley, 10 Matthew Potts, 11 George Scrimshaw.

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling (capt), 2 Andy Balbirnie, 3 Curtis Campher, 4 Harry Tector, 5 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 6 George Dockrell, 7 Andy McBrine, 8 Mark Adair, 9 Barry McCarthy, 10 Craig Young, 11 Josh Little

Andrew Miller is UK editor of ESPNcricinfo. @miller_cricket

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

WI coach Sammy: ‘This loss will not dampen our spirits’
Warner leads Australia’s charge after the Zampa-Cummins show
Jos Buttler looks for Australia favour after England seal ‘stressful’ victory
Tanzim fined 15% of match fee for altercation with Paudel
Marsh available to bowl, Maxwell backs him to find batting form

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *