Mushfiqur returns for Bangladesh as early start prompts Zimbabwe to bowl

In his first ODI as Zimbabwe captain, Regis Chakabva decided to field against Bangladesh in the series opener in Harare.
Chakabva, who is the stand-in captain after Craig Ervine pulled out of the ODI series due to knee and hamstring issues, said that the early 9.15am start prompted him to take the decision. He continued the good run with tosses for Zimbabwe. Ervine had won all three tosses in the preceding T20I series that the hosts won 2-1.
Zimbabwe have gone for a three-man seam attack that includes allrounder Luke Jongwe. Victor Nyauchi was handed an ODI debut after impressing in the final T20I with figures of 3 for 29. Chakabva has a decent batting line-up at his disposal too, but lacks the experience of the Ervine alongside Sean Williams, who too pulled out of the series due to personal reasons.

Zimbabwe: 1 Innocent Kaia, 2 Wessly Madhevere, 3 Tari Musakanda, 4 Sikandar Raza, 5 Regis Chakabva (capt & wk), 6 Ryan Burl, 7 Milton Shumba, 8 Luke Jongwe, 9 Wellington Masakadza, 10 Richard Ngarava, 11 Victor Nyauchi

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Litton Das, 3 Anamul Haque, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim, 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Afif Hossain, 7 Mosaddek Hossain, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Shoriful Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Series – and T20 World Cup spots – on the line as West Indies vs India goes to Florida for the weekend
Glenn Maxwell still hungry to succeed in Test cricket
Chapman 101*, Mitchell 74* help New Zealand ace 307-run chase
“…Best Thing About His Game”: Bhuvneshwar Kumar On Young Indian Pacer
Kyle Abbott extends Hampshire stay with new contract

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.