Sune Luus to lead South Africa Women in India as Dane van Niekerk remains injured

South Africa

Chloe Tryon and Masabata Klaas to miss the India tour as well because of injuries

South Africa Women will be without their regular captain Dane van Niekerk and allrounder Chloe Tryon for their limited-overs tour in India, comprising five ODIs and three T20Is.

Both van Niekerk and Tryon had missed the recent home series against Pakistan also as they continue to recover from injuries.

In van Niekerk’s absence, Sune Luus will continue to lead the side. Under Luus, South Africa had beaten Pakistan 3-0 in the ODI series and 2-1 in the T20Is.

Meanwhile, a last-minute injury to medium-pacer Masabata Klaas means she is the only absentee from the Pakistan series.

“It is really exciting to finally have this tour confirmed and announce our squad that will do duty here in India, and we are looking forward to getting out there to see our ladies prove themselves under different playing conditions,” South Africa’s coach Hilton Mooreng said in a media release. “India is always a wonderful place to tour and we are looking forward to the challenge that lies ahead.”

The squad is currently in a six-day quarantine before they start training. The tour begins with the first ODI on March 7, with all eight matches scheduled to be held at Lucknow’s Ekana International Stadium.

South Africa squad: Sune Luus (capt), Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta, Tasmin Britz, Marizanne Kapp, Nondumiso Shangase, Lizelle Lee, Anneke Bosch, Faye Tunnicliffe, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Mignon du Preez, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Tumi Sekhukhune

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

High-scoring KKR vs miserly Royals as IPL’s top two square off
Slater remanded in police custody on charges of assault and stalking
Maxwell takes a break to refresh after asking to be rested by RCB
Asha, Sajana earn maiden call-ups for Bangladesh series
Mustafizur available for CSK till May 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *