South Africa bowl against unchanged Pakistan

Glenton Stuurman was handed a debut © AFP via Getty Images

South Africa won the toss and chose to bowl v Pakistan

South Africa will chase for the second successive match in Lahore as they looked to break a five-match losing streak in T20Is and stay in the series. Unless they win today’s match, South Africa will concede both trophies available on their trip to Pakistan and the hosts can claim victory in series across both formats played.

South Africa made three changes to the XI that lost by three runs on Thursday, and handed a debut to medium-pacer Glenton Stuurman, who had been considered for the home Tests against Sri Lanka. Talked up as being in the mould of Vernon Philander, Stuurman’s ability to move the ball of the seam, and his accuracy, was preferred over Junior Dala, whose two overs cost 25 runs in the first match.

South Africa also added a batsman, Pite van Biljon, to the line-up at the expense of Bjorn Fortuin and replaced No.3 Jacques Snyman with allrounder Jon-Jon Smuts, who will offer left-arm spin. The addition will push David Miller down to No.6, although he could come in earlier if the situation demands.

Pakistan opted for an unchanged team and continued with their opening combination of Babar Azam and the centurion from the first match, Mohammed Rizwan. They stuck to two allrounders in Mohammed Nawaz and Faheem Ashraf with no room for Asif Ali just yet.

Pakistan: 1 Babar Azam (capt), 2 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 3 Haider Ali 4 Hussain Talat, 5 Iftikhar Ahmed 6 Khushdil Shah, 7 Mohammad Nawaz, 8 Faheem Ashraf, 9 Usman Qadir, 10 Shaheen Shah Afridi, 11 Haris Rauf

South Africa:: 1 Janneman Malan, 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Jon-Jon Smuts, 4 Pite van Biljon, 5 Heinrich Klaasen (capt &wk), 6 David Miller, 7 Dwaine Pretorius, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo, 9 Glenton Stuurman, 10 Lutho Sipamla 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Florida weatherwatch: Last three Group A games set to be affected
Harry Brook, Jonny Bairstow rescue act keeps England alive
Rohit on Bumrah: ‘He’s a genius with the ball’
USA qualify automatically for T20 World Cup 2026
Kirsten bemoans Pakistan’s ‘poor decision-making’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *