Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard, Shimron Hetmyer among ten West Indies players to pull out of Bangladesh tour

West Indies

Fabian Allen and Shane Dowrich were unavailable because of personal reasons

West Indies Test captain Jason Holder, limited-overs captain Kieron Pollard, and Test vice-captain Roston Chase are among ten players who have pulled out of the upcoming tour of Bangladesh amid Covid-19 concerns. Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer and Nicholas Pooran are the other players who “declined the opportunity to tour due to Covid-19 related concerns or personal fears,” according to a CWI release.

Allrounder Fabian Allen and wicketkeeper-batsman Shane Dowrich were unavailable because of personal reasons.

In the absence of Holder, opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite will lead the Test side; he had also captained the Test team when they last toured Bangladesh in 2018. The ODI squad will be led by Jason Mohammed, who last played for West Indies in 2018.

According to the CWI Covid-19 policy, any player can opt out of an overseas tour over fears of safety, and the decision will not impact their future selections. Bravo and Hetmyer had also turned down call-ups for the England tour earlier this year because of concerns about their families.

Test squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kavem Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Raymon Reifer, Jomel Warrican

ODI squad: Jason Mohammed (capt), Sunil Ambris, Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Jahmar Hamilton, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Andre McCarthy, Kjorn Ottley, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.

More to follow…

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

PCB set to delay Haris Rauf’s NOC for BBL
Murphy managing new workload challenges at end of a big year
Imad Wasim retires from international cricket
Marlon Samuels banned from all cricket for six years for breaching anti-corruption code
Brisbane Heat make their sixth WBBL finals in a row

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *