New Zealand survive Marcus Stoinis-Daniel Sams onslaught to earn 2-0 series lead


The visitors have resisted tinkering with their XI despite a heavy defeat in the opening match

Australia won the toss and decided to bowl against New Zealand

Australia’s captain Aaron Finch won the toss in Dunedin and chose to bowl first for the second consecutive match as the tourists sought to reverse a yawning defeat to New Zealand in the series opener.

Both sides named unchanged teams from the opening game in Christchurch, with the Australians looking for a much more consistent display under sunny skies in the first T20I ever to be played at University Oval.

Australia last played an international match in Dunedin during the white ball phase of the 2000 tour. A 50-run victory by Steve Waugh’s side that was marred by crowd disturbances and a 10-minute delay after Adam Parore was given out hit wicket after his helmet was struck by a Brett Lee bouncer and then fell onto the stumps.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tim Seifert (wk), 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Devon Conway, 5 Glenn Philipps, 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Kyle Jamieson, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

Australia 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 Matthew Wade (wk), 3 Josh Philippe, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Daniel Sams, 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Jhye Richardson, 10 Kane Richardson, 11 Adam Zampa

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

A maiden Test double-century to remember | Dimuth Karunaratne
ICC chairman and CEO to visit Pakistan with World Cup participation as chief agenda
Glamorgan sign Peter Hatzoglou as Michael Neser cover for T20 Blast
World Cup schedule to be unveiled during World Test Championship final
“Might Have Got Out First Ball But…”: India Great On MS Dhoni’s Duck In IPL Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *