Openers help West Indies dominate first session of second Test


Bangladesh brought in Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar and Abu Jayed among the three changes

Toss West Indies chose to bat v Bangladesh

West Indies captain Kraigg Brathwaite chose to bat in the second Test in Dhaka against Mominul Haque’s Bangladesh, with the visitors looking to seal a series victory having won the first Test by chasing 395 in the fourth innings. They made one like-for-like change with Kemar Roach being replaced by Alzarri Joseph.

Bangladesh, who are looking to avoid defeat in a home Test series (two or more matches) since losing to Sri Lanka in 2017-18, brought in three changes, with two of them forced.

The injured Shakib Al Hasan and Shadman Islam were replaced by Mohammad Mithun and Soumya Sarkar – with the latter set to open – while left-arm seamer Mustafizur Rahman was dropped for right-arm quick Abu Jayed. Rahman had taken only two wickets in the first Test in Chattogram.

The toss could play a significant role since cracks were observed on the pitch even before a delivery was bowled at the Shere Bangla National Stadium. Brathwaite said at the toss that the pitch appeared dry and he wanted his side to produce a better first-innings batting performance. Haque said that he wanted to bat first too.

West Indies 1 Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), 2 John Campbell, 3 Shayne Moseley, 4 Nkrumah Bonner, 5 Kyle Mayers, 6 Jermaine Blackwood, 7 Joshua Da Silva (wk), 8 Rahkeem Cornwall, 9 Alzarri Joseph, 10 Jomel Warrican, 11 Shannon Gabriel

Bangladesh 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Mominul Haque (capt), 5 Mushfiqur Rahim, 6 Mohammad Mithun, 7 Liton Das (wk), 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Nayeem Hasan, 10 Taijul Islam, 11 Abu Jayed

Sreshth Shah is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Harris and Bancroft audition for Australia’s opening spot
Why Mushfiqur Rahim was out for obstructing the field and not handling the ball
England don’t have emotions attached to WPL auction, says wicketkeeper Amy Jones
Somerset sign Will Sutherland for Championship and Blast
Harry Brook on three-year deal: ‘I was going to sign as soon as England called’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *